SSE Kicks off a New Year!

The month of October is exciting for the SSE program staff. We recently held a day and a half orientation in Anchorage for the educators leading teams to come together. They learned about the program and began to plan with their partner teacher. We are excited to welcome a wide range of communities from across the entire state to the program this year. Check out the map below to see who is participating this year. Communities participating are: Anchorage, Buckland, Chevak, Deering, Eielson AFB, Emmonak, Hooper Bay, Juneau, Kasigluk, Kotzebue, Napakiak, Noatak, Nome, Northway, Palmer, Point Lay, Prince of Wales Island, Scammon Bay, Shaktoolik, Sitka, Tok, and Unalaska. During orientation a

Connecting Through Culture: A Model for Teacher Retention in Rural Alaska

Alaska has a high teacher turnover rate, with nearly 70 percent of hires each year coming from Outside to fill vacant roles. Part of the churn in rural districts is because these transplants don't acclimate to living in remote parts of the state. “Especially in rural Alaska, they have a very high turnover rate," University of Alaska president Jim Johnsen explained in an Alaska Journal of Commerce article. "So there isn’t this level of knowledge, awareness, commitment, particularly to communities — unique communities — across the state that would make these teachers more effective in those communities.” Alaska Humanities Forum's Creating Cultural Competence (C3) model is addressing this chall

Honoring Our Board

Three members have fulfilled their terms on the Forum Board as of Sept. 30, 2018: Mike Chmielewski of Palmer; Ernestine Hayes of Juneau; and Chellie Skoog of Anchorage. We asked them to share their answers to three questions: 1. How has your board experience changed your perspective(s)? 2. What moment or experience from your board service sticks in your mind? 3. What have you done differently outside of the Forum as a result of your time on the board? At the same meeting, two Anchorage residents were named to three-year terms on the Forum Board, and we're honored to introduce Laci Michaud and Kristi Williams. Ernestine Hayes, Co-Chair, Programs Committee Professor of English, Uni

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square