2019 Governor’s Arts and Humanities Awards recognize nine Alaskans for their statewide service, lead

Nine Alaskans will be recognized at the Governor’s Arts & Humanities Awards ceremony to be held on Thursday, February 7, 2019 at the Juneau Arts & Culture Center (JACC). This celebration will honor artists, educators, journalists, a producer, and a regional commission – Alaskans who have used their craft and passion to enrich our lives; to support, teach, and inspire others; to unite people within and across communities; and to lift up and bring others’ stories to life.

The first Governor’s Arts Award was in 1969, and in the decades since has grown into an annual partnership between the Alaska Humanities Forum, the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA), the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, and the Office of the Governor. Nominations are submitted by the public each year across distinct categories and the Governor then makes the final selection.

“The 2019 awardees embody the spirit of dedication to community that is an important part of what makes Alaska strong,” notes the Forum’s Board Chair Liz Qaulluq Cravalho. “Their contributions will inspire current and future generations.” ASCA Chairman Benjamin Brown adds, “Alaskans are so fortunate that so many of the people of the Great Land display such impressive artistic ability. Each of our awardees has improved Alaskans’ lives, making us more prosperous, better educated, and fulfilled. It will be a great pleasure to see the awards given to these outstanding individuals and organizations next February in the Capital City.”

2019 Awardees:

  • Alaska Native Arts: Annette Island School District, Jack and John Hudson (Metlakatla)

  • Lifetime Achievement Award in the Arts: Dot Bardarson (Seward)

  • Lifetime Achievement in the Humanities: Maida Buckley (Fairbanks)

  • Distinguished Service in Education: Chugach Regional Resources Commission (based in Anchorage)

  • Arts Advocacy: Shannon Haugland (Sitka)

  • Distinguished Service in Leadership: Laureli Ivanoff (Unalakleet)

  • Arts Education: Nita Rearden (Homer)

  • Distinguished Service in Community: Bede Trantina (Anchorage)

  • Individual Artist: Jon Van Zyle (Eagle River)

The event is open to the public and will feature performances by Juneau-based singer and songwriter Marian Call. It will also be available to watch on 360 North and KTOO Public Media across the state through a delayed broadcast. Further details and tickets are available at akgovawards.org.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon